Feed my sheep

Our Lord told St. Peter to feed his sheep if he loved him. It is the Messiah’s command to his most promising and zealous disciple. Jesus then told St. Peter that like himself he would suffer death at the hands of evil men and to follow his example. John’s gospel has St. Peter questioning Jesus on St. John’s fate and was told that the fate of others should not concern him since the command to him remained, “Follow me”. St. John closed his gospel with the scene of the disciples getting their Lord’s perspectives on their fellow’s fates. John lived out a complete life into old age.

"Awake, O sword, against my shepherd, against the man who stands next to me" says the Lord of hosts/ Zechariah xiii, 7
“Awake, O sword, against my shepherd, against the man who stands next to me” says the Lord of hosts/ Zechariah xiii, 7

St Peter writes to his fellow elders “Tend the flock of God that is your charge exercising the oversight not by constraint but willingly not for shameful gain but eagerly not as domineering over those in your charge but being examples to the flock. And when the chief Shepherd is manifested you will obtain the unfading crown of glory” I Peter v, 2-4.

Leave a comment